In the fall of 1947, Bethel College opened its doors to nearly 100 students with The Reverend Woodrow I. Goodman as the school’s first president. In 65 years, five more presidents and one interim president followed. Take a look back through time and discover each Bethel president’s legacy.

Click on a president’s photo to read his full biography and leave comments about your memories of him.

The Rev. Woodrow I. Goodman, D.D., Lit.D. – President from 1947-1959

The Rev. Ray P. Pannabecker, D.D. – President from 1959-1974

The Rev. Albert J. Beutler, Ph.D. – President from 1974-1982

The Rev. James A. Bennett, Ph.D. – President from 1982-1988

Walter L. Weldy – President from 1988-1989

Norman V. Bridges, Ph.D. – President from 1989-2004

Steven R. Cramer, Ph.D. – President from 2004-